Australian Cricket

Cricket is the national sport in Australia, and it is one of the most popular sports there as well.

Australian Cricket team

Australia is famous around the world for its cricket team. The Australian National Cricket Team has had enormous success.

Cricket in Australia is so popular that there are annual awards to honour the talents in the Australian cricket community. The most famous Australian Cricket players are Ricky Pontin, Steve Smith, Dennis Lillee, Adam Gilchrist, Donald Bradman, and many more!

The Australian Cricket team is the team with the most prizes. They have won the World Championship five times: in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015. Despite being active at the tournament six times, they did not win the World Championship Twenty20. Their best result is being the runner-up in 2010. The ICC Champions Trophy was won twice, in 2006 and 2009.

Australian Cricket scores

An excellent introduction to the Australian Cricket team, but what can Sportmonks do for me? Well, Sportmonks is a data provider. We offer all kinds of cricket data. Think about cricket scores, player stats, team stats, live scores, standings, etc. The best part is that you can test our CSA T20 Challenge, Twenty20 International and Big Bash League data for free.

Yes, indeed, you can test these big leagues for free. The best part is that you have access to these leagues as long as you wish. Of course, we offer different plans and over 100 leagues. Get your free plan now.

Let’s talk


Let’s get back to cricket in Australia. One of the most important stadiums in Australia is the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). It is used for cricket as well as for football. The stadium opened its doors in 1854 and currently has a capacity of almost 100,000. It has been the main stadium of the Olympic games since 1956, right after it opened. Besides that, it is one of the biggest cricket stadiums all around the globe. It has been even bigger, but due to safety measurements, the capacity was lowered. Before, it had a capacity of 120,000.

Australia Cricket tournaments

You have read a lot about Australian cricket already, but what about the competitions? Let’s take a quick look.

  • Marsh Sheffield Shield
  • Women’s National Cricket League
  • Marsh Domestic One Day Cup
  • Domestic T20 / Big Bash League
  • Domestic T20 / Rebel WBBL
  • CA Underage National Championships
  • Australia Big Bash League

Australia Women Cricket team

Of course, the Australian women have an international cricket team as well. The Australia Women’s national cricket team is ranked first in the ICC rankings WODI and WT20I. The Women’s World Cup was won 11 times (first in 1973, last in 2013). There is a rivalry between New Zealand, India and the West Indies.

Karen Rolton has the most runs during her career from 1995 to 2009 with her 1002 runs, 55.66 on average. Betty Wilson made the most wickets, with 68 wickets in her career from 1948 to 1958.

If you can dream it, we got it

With our data, you can create amazing apps like over 20,000 happy customers have already done. Why don’t you come and talk to us? This way you can find out if we have what you need.