Spanish Football

Follow detailed statistics of one of the greatest football nations and leagues in Spanish football.

Add the Spain API

Spanish Football Leagues

Enrich your application with more than 15 Spanish football leagues we cover. Cover all the schedules, teams and statistics from the Spanish La Liga to all the groups in the División De Honor Juvenil. You can use our flexible JSON API to access the data just how you like it.

Check all the coverage of the Spanish leagues on our coverage page.


La Roja (Spain National Football Team)

The Spanish National Team was initially founded in 1920 to compete in the Summer Olympics. The team qualified for their first World Cup in 1934. Due to inter-and national conflicts, the Spanish Team did not play any competitive matches till 1950. They won their first international championship, the European Championship, in 1964. La Roja also won the European Championship in 2008 and 2012. They won their first and only World Cup in 2010 after a thrilling final against The Netherlands.

National Topscorers

Spain has produced some top-quality players throughout the years. David Villa is the current* topscorer of the National Team. David Villa, also known as El Guaje, scored 59 goals. He played for top-quality teams like Valencia CF, FC Barcelona and Atletico de Madrid. Villa ended his career in 2019 for the Japanese team Vissel Kobe. In second place, with 44 goals, is Real Madrid legend Raúl. An extraordinary thing to note is that central defender Sergio Ramos is also in the top 10 scorers.

The Spanish defender, who played 16 seasons for Real Madrid, has the most appearances for the national team. He has 180 caps, followed by ex-goalkeeper Iker Casillas with 167 caps and the (ex-)Barcelona midfielders Xavi and Sergio Busquets in third place.

Access up to 15 years of schedules and results from the Spanish National Team

Thanks to the managers Luis Aragones and Vicente Del Bosque, the national team is known for a playing style called Tiki-taka. The style of playing characterizes by short passes, a lot of movement and ball possession. FC Barcelona also famously adopted this style of playing in 2009.

FC Barcelona
According to many football experts and lovers worldwide, it was some of the best football ever played. Head coach Pep Guardiola, highly influenced by Dutch football legend Johan Cruyff’s, managed FC Barcelona from 2008 to 2012. During this period, Barcelona won 14 titles. Guardiola’s vision is mainly based on Johan Cruyff and the Dutch Total Football philosophy. The key attribute to this philosophy is that any player can take the role of any other player.

Barcelona flourished during this period thanks to players like Andres Iniesta, Xavi, Dani Alves, Pique, and Lionel Messi.

Are you interested in individual player statistics? Or are you looking for team and season statistics? Our Football API offers it all.

Subscribe now with a free 14-day trial.