Explore all the soccer data behind the leading American Soccer League with our MLS API and get all the stats, features and fixtures you could need.

Get started

Boost your app with the MLS

Provide your website visitors and app users with real-time MLS data via our Football API, which gives you all the data you need to create fantasy games, odds portals, betting websites and live scores apps.

With up-to-date scores, results and club information available for the Major Soccer League, what more could you want?

  • More than 20,000 satisfied customers
  • Over 1,300 leagues covered
  • 60+ data endpoints

MLS Structure

The MLS comprises 28 teams, 25 in the US and 3 in Canada. The league has a fixed membership like most sports leagues in the US and Canada, making it one of the few soccer leagues that do not use a promotion and relegation process. Instead of operating as an association of independently owned clubs, MLS is a single entity in which each team is owned by the league.

The MLS regular season usually starts in late February and runs through mid-October, with each team playing 34 games. After the regular season, the team with the best record is awarded the Supporters’ Shield. Following the regular season is a postseason knockout tournament to determine the league champion. Fourteen teams participate in the MLS Cup play-offs. All rounds in the postseason are single-match eliminations hosted by the higher seed. The conference Semifinals and Conference Finals are played in a home-and-away format.

MLS teams

Eastern Conference

Atlanta United FC was founded in 2017 as an MLS expansion team. It is the first MLS franchise to be based in Atlanta. They have set several league records for highest single-match and average attendance.

Charlotte Football Club was founded in 2019 as an expansion and is the MLS’ 28th franchise. The team holds the MLS record for standalone match attendance, with 74,479 spectators present at their inaugural home match.

Chicago Fire Football Club was founded in 1997 as one of the league’s first expansion teams. They won the MLS Cup and the US Open Cup in their first season in 1998. The club won the first-ever MLS Wooden Spoon, handed out to the worst team in a specific season.

FC Cincinnati was founded in 2018. The team succeeded the lower-division team of the same name. They played their first match in 2019 against Seattle Sounder FC.

Columbus Crew was founded in 1994. They are one of the 10 charter clubs of the league. The Crew have won six major trophies, the MLS Cup twice, the Supporters’ Shield three times and one US Open Cup.

D.C. United was founded in 1994 as one of the charter clubs of the league. The club won the 1998 CONCACAF Champions’ Cup making them one of only two MLS teams to ever win that tournament.

Inter Miami was founded in 2018 and played for the first time in the 2020 season. The team is owned by famous English footballer David Beckham.

CF Montréal was founded in 2010 and is one of 3 Canadian teams in the MLS. The club rebranded in 2021 to CF Montréal with its former name being Montréal Impact.

New England Revolution was founded in 1996 and has competed in the league since its inaugural season. The Revolution is the only original MLS team to have televised every league game in their history.

New York City FC was founded in 2013 and are often referred to as NYCFC. The club is co-owned by City Football Group, which also owns Manchester City. New York City FC played its first game in 2015, as the 20t overall expansion team of the league.

New York Red Bulls was founded in 1996 as the New York/New Jersey MetroStars. In 2006 the team was sold to Red Bull and re-branded as part of the company’s global network of soccer clubs.

Orlando City was founded in 2013 and began to play in 2015 as the 21st franchise in MLS. In doing so they became the first MLS team in Flordia since Miami Fusion and Tampa Bay Mutiny.

Philadelphia Union was founded in 2008 and began playing in 2010 as an expansion team. Professional basketball player Kevin Durant serves as a minority owner. In 2020, Philadelphia secured the Supporters’ Shield, winning the first title in the club’s history.

Toronto FC was founded in 2005 and was the first Canadian-based franchise in the league. In 2017, Toronto won the domestic treble with the MLS Cup, Supporters’ Shield and Canadian Championship.


Western Conference

Austin FC was founded in 2018 and played its first game in the 2021 season. They are the first major professional sports league team to play in Texas’ capital. Their home stadium is Q2 stadium in Austin.

Colorado Rapids was founded in 1995 and is a founding member of the MLS. The Rapids are owned by the Kroenke family. The family also owns the Denver Nuggets and the famous football club Arsenal which plays in the Premier League.

FC Dallas was founded in 1995 as the Dallas Burn before adopting its current name in 2004. Their academy and reserves are regarded as one of the best in the MLS, producing players that have gone and played abroad including in renowned leagues in Europe.

Houston Dynamo FC was founded in 2005 after the relocation of the San Jose Earthquakes to Houston following the 2005 season. They have been MLS Cup champions twice winning both in their first two seasons in Houston.

Sporting Kansas City was founded in 1995 as Kansas City Wiz. The team rebranded in November 2010, coinciding with its move to its home stadium, now known as Children’s Mercy Park.

LA Galaxy was founded in 1994 and is one of the founding members of the MLS. The franchise is one of the MLS’ most successful teams, with a record five MLS Cups and four additional appearances in the final.

Los Angeles FC was founded in 2014 and began playing during the 2018 season. During their second season. LAFC won the Supporters’ Shield with club captain Carlos Vela earning the MVP award.

Minnesota United FC was founded in 2015 and began to play in 2017 replacing the North American Soccer League franchise of the same name. They are nicknamed The Loons.

Nashville SC was founded in 2017 and played in the league from the 2020 season. They play their home matches at Geodis Park.

Portland Timbers was founded in 2009 and played their first match in 2011 at Providence Park. In 2015 the franchise won its first major, the MLS Cup, becoming the first team in Cascadia to do so.

Real Salt Lake often shortened to RSL was founded in 2004. They won the MLS Cup for the first time in 2009.

San Jose Earthquakes was founded in 1994 as the San Jose Clash. The organization relocated to Houston in 2005 following failing efforts to secure a stadium in San Jose. They returned after a two-year hiatus, resuming play in 2008.

Seattle Sounders FC was founded in 2007. They played their inaugural match in 2009, winning 3-0 over the New York Red Bulls. Seattle has been among the MLS’ most successful teams.

Vancouver Whitecaps FC was founded in 2009 and began to play in 2011 as the 17th team to enter the MLS. In the 2012 season, the team became the first Canadian team to qualify for the MLS Cup play-offs.