Carabao Cup

The EFL Cup also known as the League Cup or the Carabao Cup, for sponsorship reasons, is an English annual knock-out tournament.


First held in 1960–61 as the Football League Cup, it is one of England’s three top-tier domestic football competitions, alongside the Premier League and FA Cup. It concludes in February, long before the other two, which end in May. It was introduced by the league as a response to the increasing popularity of European football, and to also exert power over the FA. It also took advantage of the roll-out of floodlights, allowing the fixtures to be played as midweek evening games. With the renaming of the Football League as the English Football League in 2016, the tournament was rebranded as the EFL Cup from the 2016–17 season onwards. The tournament is played over seven rounds, with single-leg ties throughout, except for the semi-finals. The final is held at Wembley Stadium, which is the only tie in the competition played at a neutral venue and on a weekend

The best Carabao Cup data

Keep track of all the fixtures, statistics, and player information of all the Carabao Cup seasons.

  • 14,000 Happy API users
  • Fast and reliable live scores
  • All the Carabao Cup teams with detailed season stats

Get started

Giant killings

Giant killings are less well remembered in the League Cup than the FA Cup due to the absence of non-league sides and the fact that many big clubs have fielded very under-strength sides when knocked out. However, there have been some notable upsets, such as Fourth Division side Chester beating defending league champions Leeds United 3–0 on their surprise run to the semi-finals in 1974–75. In 1995–96, Manchester United was beaten 3–0 at home by York City in the second round, the first leg; United could only win 3–1 in the second leg and went out 4–3 on aggregate. Two years later in 1968–69, Third Division side Swindon Town beat Arsenal 3–1 after extra time in the final to win the trophy. Manchester United have also been knocked out by Southend United and Coventry City in 2006–07 and 2007–08 respectively. In the 2014–15 season, Manchester United fielded five international players but lost 4–0 in the second round against third-tier side MK Dons.

Carabao Cup records


The most Carabao Cup wins belong to Liverpool. They have a record of 9 total wins as of 2022. The most consecutive EFL Cup wins are held by two teams, Liverpool from 1981 to 1984 and Manchester City from 2018 to 2021. The most final appearances are also held by Liverpool, they have played at Wembley a total of 14 times.


The record for most goals scored in the Carabao cup belongs to Ian Rush who scored an astonishing 49 times in the League Cup. The most goals in a single season were scored by Clive Allen in the 1986-87 season. The most goals scored in a match by a single player are 6 by Frankie Bunn. The highest-scoring game in the League Cup ended with a 5-7 score between Reading and Arsenal. The biggest win in Carabao Cup history belongs to West Ham United and Liverpool who both won a match 10-0.


The most individual Carabao Cup wins belong to Sergio Agüero and Fernandinho for Manchester City who won the final 6 times. They also appeared in the final as individuals for a record amount of time, also 6. The youngest player to play in the Carabao Cup is Harvey Elliot who played in a match at just 15 years and 174 days old.