2. Bundesliga

The 2. Bundesliga API is covering all 2. Bundesliga live scores, results, statistics, squads and matches.

Join the Sportmonks community

Over 20,000 customers are already subscribed to one of our API plans. We are distinguishing ourselves in various ways. First of all, we have the most flexible API around. Over 2,000 leagues are covered by our API, which has 60+ endpoints. For every single endpoint, you get 2,000 API calls per hour. Besides this, we have multiple add-ons to our football plans. The Prediction API is one of these add-ons.

Join Sportmonks

2. Bundesliga Table

The Bundesliga 2 table

The Bundesliga 2 table includes 18 teams that are fighting for promotion. The champion and the runner-up promote to the Bundesliga. The number three must play play-off matches to claim their spot in the highest division of Germany. This will be a match against the number 16 of the Bundesliga. FC St. Pauli is the record champion of the 2. Bundesliga.

2. Bundesliga teams

Below all active 2. Bundesliga teams are shortly introduced. The city, founding year, stadium name and capacity, and all-time top scorer per team are elaborated.

SV Darmstadt 98 is located in Hessen and was founded in 1898. The nickname of the club is Die Lilien. The stadium Darmstadt plays in is Am Böllenfalltor and has a capacity of 20,000. Peter Cestonaro is the all-time top scorer with 92 goals.

FC St. Pauli is located in Hamburg and was founded in 1910. The home ground of St. Pauli is Millerntor-Stadion, with a capacity of 29,546. Franz Gerber is the all-time top scorer of St. Pauli with 91 goals.

Hamburger SV was founded in 1887 and was the only club that belonged to the highest league in Germany since its existence. However, they were relegated to the 2. Bundesliga in 2018. As you might expect, the club is located in Hamburg. Uwe Seeler is the all-time top scorer.

FC Heidenheim 1846 already tells you when it was founded (1846). The city is not a hard guess either (Heidenheim). The home ground of Heidenheim is the Voith-Arena which has a capacity of 15,000. Marc Schnatterer is the all-time top scorer with 54 goals.

FC Nürnberg was founded in 1900 and is located in Nürnberg. This was one of the clubs that took part in the first season of the Bundesliga. The stadium of Heidenheim is the Max-Morlock-Stadium, with a capacity of 48,000. Heinz Strehl is the all-time top scorer with 131 goals.

SSV Regensburg was founded in 1907 and plays its home games in the Jahnstadion Regensburg with a capacity of 21,224. Marco Grüttner is the all-time top scorer with 35 goals.

SC Paderborn 07 was founded in 1907 and plays its home matches in the Benteler-Arena. The capacity of the stadium is 15,000. The all-time top scorer is Veselin Gerov, with 95 goals.

Karlsruher SC is located in Karlsruhe and was founded in 1894. The club plays in the Wildparkstadion with a capacity of 29,699. Emanuel Günther is the all-time top scorer with 143 goals. He scored 0.43 goals per match.

Holstein Kiel was founded in 1990 and plays its matches in Holstein-Stadion. The stadium has a capacity of 15.034. The all-time top scorer is Dmitrijus Guscinas, with 86 goals.

Hannover 96 is located in Hannover and founded in 1896. Their home ground is the HDI-Arena which has a capacity of 49,200. The all-time top scorer of Hannover 96 scored 0.78 goals per match while playing 188 games. This means that he scored 138 goals in total.

Hansa Rostock is located in a German port city named Rostock. The club was founded in 1965and the full name is Fußballclub Hansa Rostock e.V. Their home ground is DKB-Arena which has a capacity of 29,000. The all-time top scorer of Rostock is Rainer Jarohs, with 66 goals. However, Pascal Breier is close to him with 62 goals while still playing for Rostock.

Fortuna Düsseldorf is located in Düsseldorf and plays its home matches in the Esprit Arena. The stadium provides space for 54.600 spectators. Fortuna Düsseldorfs’ all-time top scorer, scored exactly 100 goals in 150 appearances.

SV Sandhausen is located in Sanhausen and was founded in 1916. The home ground has a capacity of 15,414 and is called the Hardtwaldstadion. Andrew Wooten is the all-time top scorer with 50 goals in 157 games for SV Sandhausen.

DSC Arminia Bielefeld is a German sports club based in Bielefeld, North Rhine-Westphalia. It is sometimes known as Arminia Bielefeld, Die Blauen, or just Arminia. Football, field hockey, figure skating, and cue sports are all available at Arminia. The club’s colours are black, white, and blue, and it has 12,000 members. Arminia was named after the Cheruscan king Arminius, who destroyed a Roman army in the Battle of Teutoburg Forest.

Greuther Fürth was founded in 1903. They will play in the 2. Bundesliga following regelation from the Bundesliga in the 2021-22 season. They are nicknamed the Cloverleaves.

1. FC Magdeburg is an association football team based in Magdeburg, Germany. The club was created in 1965 and played in East Germany’s top flight, the DDR-Oberliga, for all but one season, winning three championships and seven cup trophies. It is the only club from East Germany to have won a European trophy, the European Cup Winners’ Cup in 1974. After German reunification, the club struggled and only returned to professional football in 2015, when it was promoted to the 3. Liga.

Eintracht Braunschweig is a football and sports club in Braunschweig, Lower Saxony, Germany. The club was a founding member of the Bundesliga in 1963 and won the national championship in 1967. The club competes in the 2. Bundesliga, Germany’s second-tier football league system. Eintracht Braunschweig has played at the Eintracht-Stadion since 1923. The team has a rivalry with Hannover 96, another Lower Saxon club.

FC Kaiserslautern was founded in 1900. As a founding member of the Bundesliga, FCK played from 1963 to 1996 uninterrupted in the top division. It has won four German championships, two DFB-Pokals, and one DFL-Supercup, and historically is among the most successful football clubs in Germany, currently occupying eleventh place in the all-time Bundesliga table.

Start your free trial

The German 2. Bundesliga is included in our European Plan, the World Plan and our Enterprise plan.

When you start now, you will get a 14-day trial which you will never have to pay for. You can use this to test out our data and the API itself. Are you ready to create the future of sports?

Start now