The Ekstraklasa is the highest football competition in Poland.

Ekstraklasa History

The Polish football federation organizes this league every year. In the league, there are 16 active teams. The Ekstraklasa was founded in 1920, and the current champion is Legia Warschau. The team from Warschau is the record champion now with 15 titles. Górnik Zabrze and Ruch Chorzów are the two clubs that have won the Ekstraklasa 14 times. Wisla Kraków won the league 13 times.

The number 15 and 16 relegate to the I Liga, while the number 14 will play to stay in the league. The teams ranked second and third, and the team winning the Polish cup will play the preliminaries of the Europa League. The champion of the Ekstraklasa will play in the preliminaries of the Champions League.

Golden stars

There are four clubs with four gold stars. This means they have won 10 or more Ekstraklasa titles. These clubs are Górnik Zabrze, Legia Warsaw, Ruch Chrozów and Wisła Kraków.

Ekstraklasa data

When you make an API request to our API, you will receive data in JSON format, as shown above. What other data do we cover besides live scores? We cover all kinds of statistics, for example, season statistics, match statistics, team statistics, and player statistics. We cover predictions as well.

During a match, a lot of different events can occur. Think about cards, substitutes, VAR interference, and of course goals. All these events are covered live in our Football API.

Sportmonks is the data provider for your business idea. Over 20,000 people are already part of the Sportmonks Community. Make sure to join our community and make sure you get the best data for your successful application.

Ekstraklasa Live scores

The Ekstraklasa is covered with live scores. Do you want to build a live score page? Then we got the data you need. Look at a data example below.

                    "id": 18145142003,
                    "team_id": "3962",
                    "type": "goal",
                    "var_result": null,
                    "fixture_id": 18145142,
                    "player_id": 1872853,
                    "player_name": "P. Janasik",
                    "related_player_id": 155469,
                    "related_player_name": "F. Piasecki",
                    "minute": 25,


Śląsk Wrocław has the stadium with the highest capacity. Stadion Wrocław has a capacity of 45,105. Lechia Gdańsk and Lech Poznań follow with capacities of 43,615 (Polsat Plus Arena Gdańsk) and 43,269 (Stadion Poznań). The smallest stadium is Stadion im. Kazimierza Górskiego of Wisła Płock, which has a capacity of 3,500.

Ekstraklasa teams

Below you can find a list of teams active in the 2021-2022 season.

  • Pogoń Szcezecin
  • Rakow
  • Lech Poznan
  • Lechia Gdansk
  • Radomiak Radom
  • Wisla Plock
  • Piast Gliwice
  • Gornik Z.
  • Cracovia
  • Legia
  • Stal Mielec
  • Jagiellonia
  • Warta Poznan
  • Slask Wroclaw
  • Zaglebie
  • Wisla
  • Termalica B-B.
  • Leczna

Ekstraklasa top scorers

Ernest Pohl is the all-time top scorer of the Ekstraklasa with his 186 goals from 1954 to 1967. Besides that, he was the top scorer in three different seasons. He had to share the first place in two seasons, once with Jan Liberda and once with Henryk Kempny. Lucjan Brychy scored 182 goals from 1954 to 1971 and is in second place, while Gerard Cieślik is in third place with 168 goals in the period of 1948-1959.

Other facts

Lukasz Surma has played most matches in the Ekstraklassa. He played 559 games. Legia Warsaw played most seasons in the Ekstraklasa with 82 seasons, while Wisła Kraków is in second place with 79 seasons. Ruch Chorzów is ranked third with 77 seasons played.