Gold Cup

Get all the data from the biggest international tournament in North America, the Gold Cup, with Sportmonks’ Football API.

Gold Cup History

The Gold Cup succeeded the CONCACAF Championship, with its first edition being held in 1991. The United States hosted the first edition of the championship and has hosted or co-hosted every subsequent iteration of the tournament. In 1996, the Cup included its first guest team, the defending World Cup Champions, Brazil. Since then, 7 different teams have participated in the Gold Cup. An invitee has never won the championship. Brazil finished as runners-up two times and Colombia finished as runners-up one time. Since the formation of the in 1991, the championship has been won eight times by Mexico, seven times by the United States and once by Canada.


CONCACAF Gold Cup 2021

The 2021 edition was the sixteenth edition of the tournament. The championship was originally scheduled to be held from the 2nd through the 25th of July but was later rescheduled for the 10th of July through the 1st of August. It was an exciting tournament with 89 goals scored in 31 matches, for an average of 2.87 goals per match. The top scorer was Almoez Ali from invitee country Qatar with 4 goals. The eventual winners were the United States who beat Mexico 1-0 after a goal in the 117th minute of extra time. The Golden Ball award was given to Héctor Herrera and the young player award was given to Tajon Buchanan whose play was widely praised by the region’s media.


Gold Cup API

Are you looking for the best data on the Gold Cup? Then Sportmonks is your perfect opportunity. We have detailed coverage of the biggest North American Tournament. In addition to live scores and match stats we also offer a range of odds, fixtures and historical data.

Start now



A couple of records and statistics are listed down below. The nation with the most wins is Mexico, who has 80 wins in 117 games. The United States followed close behind with 73 wins in 97 games. The most lost matches belong to Honduras who have lost a total of 36 games in a total of 90 played matches. Guatemala follows close behind with 32 losses in 72 matches. The team with the worst goal difference is Cuba. They currently have a -85-goal difference. Conceding 112 goals and scoring just 27 in their 37 matches played. Mexico has the record amount of Championships with 8 titles to their name. The USA currently sit on 7 wins. The all-time goalscorer of the Gold Cup is American Landon Donovan, who scored 18 goals in 6 different editions. Luís Roberto Alves holds the record for most goals scored in one edition. He scored 11 goals in the 1993 Gold Cup. 7 of those goals were scored against Martinique. Do you want more stats like this? Head to our Football API to find out more!