Nations League

The Nations League is a tournament that has been held every two years since the 2018-2019 edition.

UEFA Nations League

The UEFA Nations League is organized by the UEFA every two years and replaces the friendly international matches. During the UEFA congress in Astana, it was positively voted for unanimously. The first-ever champion of this competition is Portugal and France is the reigning champion after winning it in the 2020-2021 season.

Nations League Data

The Sportmonks Football API provides data for the Nations League. Nations League Live Scores and predictions are covered, but all other statistics, tournament-, team- and player information are also covered.

Do you need more information? Check out the Football API. Do not forget to combine the Football API with the Predictions API. The Sportmonks API responds to your requests in JSON format, which you can see below.

Competition format

The tournament is held every two years and will occur every year. The UEFA members (55) are classified into four divisions. The highest division is division A and will count 12 teams. The same happens for the B division. Division C has 15 teams, while division D has 16 teams.

The teams were classified over the divisions in the first edition based on the UEFA rankings. Every division will be divided into groups of three or four teams. The winners of the four groups in Division A will face each other in a battle for the title the following year. All group winners in Divisions B, C and D, will promote to the next division. The teams ranked last in Divisions A, B and C groups will relegate to a lower division.

However, changes were made in the second edition of the Nations League. The divisions A, B and C have 16 countries now. In division D, there are only seven countries left. Because of this change, only two countries in division C will relegate to Division D next edition.

Nations League Divisions 2022/2023

In division A Belgium, Denmark, Germany, England, France, Hungary, Italy, Croatia, The Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Czech Republic, Wales and Switzerland will participate.

In division B, Albania, Bosnia Herzegovina, Finland, Ireland, Iceland, Israel, Montenegro, Norway, Ukraine, Romania, Russia, Scotland, Serbia, Slovenia, and Sweden are included.



In division C, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Faeroe, Georgia, Greece, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Northern Ireland, North-Macedonia, Slovakia, and Turkey are playing.

The following teams will play Belarus, Andorra, Estonia, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Malta, Moldavia, and San Marino in division D.

Nations League prizes

The countries take the Nations League very serious because the teams can earn playoff tickets in the upcoming World Cup or European Championship. For the European Championship in 2024, twelve countries do not qualify the traditional way for three playoff spots.

The Nations League has a cup as well, which is based on the competition logo. It is made from silver and inside all the flags of the countries are visible. It weighs 7.5 kilos and is 71 centimetres.