Olympic Football Tournament

Every four years, the Summer Olympics are being held. And that means there is Olympic Football. Get access to all football data from the Summer Olympics now!

Olympic Football Tournament

The squads for the Olympic football tournament are bounded by rules. The are age restrictions for the players participating at the Olympics. Normally, only players under the age of 23 are allowed to enter the Olympics. Per squad, three exceptions can be made to complete the squad list.

Football was not an Olympic sport in 1896. It made its official Olympic debut in 1900. The IOC considers the 1900 and 1904 Olympics official events, while FIFA did not recognise the tournaments. Back then, club teams participated. Football has been included in every Summer Olympic Games as a men’s competition sport, except in 1896 (the inaugural Games) and 1932 (in an attempt to promote the new FIFA World Cup tournament).

The format of the Olympic football games is a Round-Robin group stage and, afterwards, a knockout stage. The teams are divided into groups of four teams. Every team will face the others in the same group once. Just like in the World Cup, numbers one and two will proceed to the knockout stage. The two best numbers three will also advance to the women’s tournament.

Maximise Your Football App’s Potential with the Olympics Football API

Crafted by developers, for developers.
Reliable Football Data
Gain access to fast, top tier football data.
30,000 Happy Users
Join our thriving community and access top-tier data.

Spots per continent

Every continent is allowed to have a certain number of teams participating in the Olympic Football Tournament. Europe can claim four spots with European teams, just like Asia, while Africa has three. South and North America have two places, and Oceania has only one spot to fill.

Olympic winners

Hungary and Great Britain are the two nations having won three gold medals at the Olympic games. Brazil is the current champion and the latest team to receive the golden medal because it won the Olympic tournament’s last edition in 2020. Brazil, Argentina, the Soviet Union, and Uruguay won the Olympics twice, which resulted in two beautiful golden medals. Yugoslavia, Spain, Poland, East Germany, Nigeria, France, Czechoslovakia, Italy, Sweden, Mexico, Belgium, Canada, and Cameroon all won the tournament once and claimed one golden medal.

Olympic top scorers

Ferenc Bene scored the most goals in one single Olympic tournament with his 12 goals in 1964. In second place comes Sophus Nielsen with 11 goals in 1908, and Gottfried Fuchs completes the top three with ten goals in 1912. Richarlison scored five goals in 2020. Therefore, he is the top scorer in 2020.

Sophus Nielsen and Antal Dunai scored 13 goals in total and are the all-time top scorers at the Olympic Football tournament. Ferenc Bene scored 12 goals in total and is the number three.


Enhance your football app, boost user enjoyment, and streamline development costs and time. Our Football API is tailored for iGaming, media, developers, and passionate football fans, allowing you to craft a football application that resonates with your audience. Explore the features of our Football API now.

Women’s Olympic Soccer

Women’s football was added to the Olympic programme in 1996. The women do not have restrictions based on age like the men’s tournament has. Teams are chosen based on their success in the last World Cup. Besides that, there is always one spot reserved for the host country. The United States is the record holder for most championships at the Olympic Football tournament. They won the title four times, while Germany, Canada, and Norway won the tournament once. What is interesting to mention as well is that the United States has won the title four times but has not a single top scorer. The last edition’s top scorer was Vivianne Miedema, who scored ten times. This is a record for most goals in a single Women’s Olympic tournament.

Our Football API offers data about the Olympic games and many other tournaments and leagues. If you plan to create a football application, you can choose our Football API without a doubt. Our API is faster than live broadcasting and has all data you need. The best part is you test our API with a 14-day free trial after registering at my.Sportmonks.com. Over 20,000 customers have gone ahead and used our API already. What are you waiting for? You can contact our support team or go ahead and start right away.

Easy integration

Developers want an easy-to-use Football JSON REST-APIs in different programming languages like Python, PHP, and others, along with XML formats. The Copa America API provides quick responses and easy-to-use endpoints, making it fast to deploy and adapt.

It works with many coding languages, making integration easier so developers can focus on being creative instead of dealing with complicated setups. Enjoy better performance and effortless usability, which speed up app development.

Check our Developer Documentation


1. Start

Stop uncertainty and start your free trial right now

2. Build

Start building your professional Football application

3. Enjoy

Enjoy reliable and high-quality football data

We chose Sportmonks because of the accuracy of its Football API, its’ ease of use and its’ outstanding customer service. Starting with Sportmonks was incredibly easy and intuitive. The onboarding process was virtually non-existent. Just plug and play!

Xavier - CTO ScorePlay