Gain access to all the data on Bundesliga winners

As a fan, the number one spot at the end of the season is crucial, and we provide all the information you need to stay up-to-date.

Bundesliga Winners list

Our Football API provides access to all the data on Bundesliga Winners. The Bundesliga, which is watched by billions of people across Germany and over 188 countries, is one of the most popular leagues in the world.

Create a detailed list of all Bundesliga winners with our Football API and highlight the teams that have earned the coveted title. With a global viewership spanning 188 countries, the Bundesliga is considered one of the World’s top-leagues. To achieve the title of Bundesliga winner, a team must maintain peak performance throughout the entire season. Don’t miss out on the opportunity to showcase all the essential information for each champion, including logos, basic and in-depth squad information, and more. Are you ready to provide your users with a complete Bundesliga Winners list?

The Bundesliga was established in 1963, and in its first season of 1963-64, 1. FC Köln clinched the first-ever Bundesliga title. However, since then, Bayern Munich has dominated the competition and tops the Bundesliga winners list with 31 titles of the 59 Bundesliga seasons that have been played up until 2022.

Try for free

We have gained the trust of more than 20,000 customers, and here are some of their names:

Facts about the Bundesliga winners

Despite Bayern’s dominance of the Bundesliga, they didn’t become Bundesliga winners until the sixth season of the league’s existence. In fact, their rivals 1860 Munich were the first Bundesliga winners from the city, as the Bundesliga only allowed one team per city when it was established in 1963.

It may come as a surprise that Bayern Munich was not the first team to successfully become the Bundesliga winners consecutively. This achievement actually belongs to Gladbach, who managed to beat Bayern to the title twice in the seasons of 1969/70 and 1970/71.



When it comes to the total number of German championships, the runner-up position is held by a rather unexpected team: Nuremberg. Until 1986, their collection of nine German titles was unmatched. Though they shared the nickname at times with Schalke, Nuremberg was widely recognized as Germany’s “Rekordmeister” or record champions for an astonishing stretch of over 60 years between 1924 and 1986. Their impressive run finally came to an end in the 1986/87 season, when Bayern Munich secured their 10th German championship.

The first-ever Bundesliga winners were Cologne, and they were succeeded by Werder Bremen, 1860 Munich, Eintracht Braunschweig, and Nuremberg.

Stop wasting time and resources

The creators of the Bundesliga API are developers who have a passion for sports. They made sure that everything was designed to cater to the needs of fans and developers, making it simple to integrate the API into their applications.

  • Football data worldwideOur filtering options enable you to retrieve all crucial information regarding the winners of the Bundesliga.
  • Football data worldwideOur API is free to access with the free plan, which includes the Danish Superliga and Scottish Premiership data. Additionally, you can try out our API using the 14-day trial.
  • Football data worldwideIf you have any questions, our support team is always available to help.


1. Start

Stop uncertainty and start your free trial right now

2. Build

Start building your professional Football application

3. Enjoy

Enjoy high-quality and reliable Bundesliga Data


Check data features

Why Sportmonks?

Initially, Sportmonks began as a hobby project to create a fantasy game. However, we hit a roadblock when we encountered the exorbitant cost of obtaining quality data. Although acquiring the data should have been enjoyable, all the reasonably-priced sources failed to meet our standards. We were left with no other option but to gather the data ourselves. Fast forward almost a decade later, we are now the data provider that we needed back then. As sports enthusiasts and developers, we want to assist other like-minded individuals and companies in creating their dream applications by providing reliable data.

Let us be your compass in the ocean of sports data

All of the Bundesliga Winners

The list belows shows the amount of times a club became Bundesliga winners. It really shows the dominance of Bayern München as Bundesliga winners.

FC Bayern München – 31 times
Borussia Dortmund – 5 times
Borussia Mönchengladbach – 5 times
Werder Bremen – 4 times
VfG Stuttgart – 3 times
Hamburger SV – 3 times
FC Kaiserslautern – 2 times
FC Köln – 2 times
FC Nürnberg – 1 time
VfL Wolfsburg – 1 time winner
Eintracht Braunschweig – 1 time winner