Big Bash League

The Big Bash League is one of the most popular Cricket Leagues globally. Are you ready to create an application for this fantastic league?

Start now

Big Bash League History

The Big Bash League, in short BBL, is one of the two Twenty20 cricket leagues. It was created in 2011 by Cricket Australia. The other Twenty20 league is the Indian Premier League.

The first edition of the BBL was in 2011-2012. It replaced the KFC Twenty20 Big Bash. The eight teams joining the Big Bash League represent city-based franchises, while six state teams were participating in the old set-up.

The BBL has been held since 2011 and has been won by six of the eight teams already. The Perth Scorchers is the most successful team now with four titles, followed by the Sydney Sixers, which have won it three times. The other teams that have managed to get the title are Brisbane Heat, Sydney Thunder, Adelaide Strikers and Melbourne Renegades.

The Big Bash League takes place during the summer in Australia, in December, January, and February.


Big Bash League format

The BBL has always had the same format except for the first season. Each team plays every other team twice in a group stage. After that, the final series will start. The final tournament is held at the team’s home ground, which ranked highest in the group stage.

Big Bash League 2021-2022

Perth Scorchers won the Big Bash League in the 2021-2022 season. They beat Sydney Sixers by 79 runs in an amazing final.

Big Bash League teams

The teams participating in the Big Bash League are introduced to you below.

Adelaide Strikers
Adelaide Strikers is a professional Twenty20 franchise cricket team. The franchise is in Adelaide. The team was created in 2011, and the first title in the BBL came in the 2017-2018 season. The colour of the team uniform is blue. Furthermore, the Adelaide Oval is the home ground of the Adelaide Strikers, and the stadium has a capacity of 53,583.

Brisbane Heat
Brisbane Heat was founded in 2011, and during the second season (2012-2013), the club won the first Big Bash League title. The capacity of The Gabba, which is their home ground, is 42,000. Furthermore, their uniform is teal.

Hobart Hurricanes
The Hobart Hurricanes were founded in 2011 and represents Hobart. The Bellerive Oval, with a capacity of 20,000, is their home ground, but some matches are played at the University of Tasmania Stadium 19,500. The colour of their kit is purple. The team did not win the Big Bash League yet.

Melbourne Renegades
The Melbourne Renegades were founded in 2011 to participate in the Big Bash League, which they have won in the 2018-2019 season. The home ground is Docklands stadium with a capacity of 47,000, while their second home is Kardinia Park with 36,000 spots for visitors. The colours of the club are red and black.




Melbourne Stars
The Melbourne Stars were founded in 2011, and their home ground is the Melbourne Cricket Ground, which has a capacity of 100,024. Metricon Stadium (25,000), Gold Coast Ted Summerton Reserve (7,500), and the Moe CitiPower Centre (7,000) are the other stadiums of the Melbourne Stars. The colours of the team are green and black.

Perth Scorchers
The Perth Scorchers have won four Big Bash League titles already. They are the most successful team at the moment, and the home ground is the Perth Stadium, with a capacity of 60,000. The team plays in Orange and are the reigning champion of the BBL.

Sydney Sixers
With three Big Bash League titles, this team is in second place. Located in Sydney and playing in Magenta kits, The Sydney Sixers can rival Perth Scorchers’ results. The home ground is Sydney Cricket Ground, with a capacity of 48,601.

Sydney Thunder
Sydney Thunder was able to get one title. With the Sydney Showground Stadium as their home ground, they can welcome 21,500 fans. The colour of the kit is Lime green.

Start creating today

BBL Prizes

The teams in the BBL can win $20,000 when finishing fifth in the season. Both losing semi-finalist wins $80,000 while the runner-up wins $260,000. The team that becomes champion of the season wins $450,000.

Women Big Bash League

The women have their own Big Bash League since 2015-2016. Eight teams are participating, and the Sixers, Heat and Thunder all have two titles which is the current record.

Facts and records

The trophy was designed after a design contest in 2011. This contest was held to determine the trophy’s design, and only Australians were able to participate. The public was able to choose from a set of three designs.

The attendance in the 2016-2017 season was the highest, with 30,114 on average.

Sean Abbott holds the record of most wickets with 112 wickets. Chris Lynn has the most runs, with 2,790 runs. Furthermore, Alex Carey has 51 dismissals, while Glenn Maxwell has the most catches with 59 catches.