Indian Premier League

All the data you could dream of from the most-attended cricket league in the world, the Indian Premier League.


The Indian Premier League is a professional men’s Twenty20 Cricket league, contested by ten teams based in ten Indian cities. The league was founded in 2007 and took place for the first time in 2008. It is usually held between March and May of every year and has an exclusive window in the ICC Future Tours Programme. There have been 14 seasons of the IPL tournament and the current title holders are the Chennai Super Kings.

Each team plays each other twice in a home-and-away round-robin format in the league phase. After that, the top four teams will qualify for the play-offs. The top two teams will play against each other in the first Qualifying match, with the winner going straight to the IPL final and the loser getting another chance to qualify for the IPL final by playing the second Qualifying match. Meanwhile, the third and fourth place teams from the league phase play against each other in an eliminator match and the winner from that match will play the loser from the first Qualifying match. The winner of the second Qualifying match will move on to the final to play the winner of the first Qualifying match in the IPL Final match, where the winner will be crowned the Indian Premier League champions.


Cover the IPL

Start your Indian Premier League App here

Retrieve season schedule
Display all the Indian Premier League matches in your application.
Live scores and events
Get up-to-date and reliable livescores on each match from the Indian Premier League from our Cricket API.
Retrieve detailed player statistics from the entire Indian Premier League season. You can also access historical data from previous IPL seasons.

Indian Premier League teams

15 different teams have competed for the Indian Premier League title. Currently, 10 teams are competing for the IPL title. Those teams are listed down below.

Chennai Super Kings was founded in 2008 and is a franchise cricket team based in Chennai. The team served a two-year suspension from the IPL due to the involvement of their owners in the 2013 IPL betting case. They have the highest win percentage of matches among all teams in the Indian Premier League, 64,83%.

Delhi Capitals formerly known as Delhi Daredevils was founded in 2008. They play their games in the Arun Jaitley Stadium which holds 55.000 spectators. The Capitals appeared in their first IPL final in 2020.

Gujarat Titans is based in Ahmedabad and was founded in October 2021. This is their first season in the IPL. They play their games in the Narendra Modi Stadium, the World’s Largest Cricket stadium that seats 132.000 spectators.

Kolkata Knight Riders also known as the KKR was founded in 2008. The Knight Riders play at the iconic Eden Gardens Stadium which seats 68.000 people. They have won the IPL on two occasions, in 2012 and 2014.

Lucknow Super Giants was founded in October 2021 as one of the two new teams. The team launched a competition to decide its name, from which the name Lucknow Super Giants was chosen.


Mumbai Indians was founded in 2008. The team is owned by India’s biggest conglomerate, Reliance Industries. They have won the Indian Premier League five times and play their games in the Wankhade Stadium which has a capacity of 33.108.

Punjab Kings was founded in 2008 as the Kings XI Punjab. Apart from the 2014 season when they topped the league table and finished runners-up, the team has made only one other playoff appearance in 13 Indian Premier League seasons.

Rajasthan Royals was founded in 2008 as one of the initial IPL franchises. The team is based at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. The Royals are known to unearth obscure, high potential talent as well as for their involvement in several controversies and scandals. They were the first team to win the title.

Royal Challengers Bangalore often abbreviated as RCB was founded in 2008 by United Spirits. They have never won the title but finished runners-up on three occasions between 2009 and 2016. The team holds the records for both the highest and the lowest totals in the IPL – 263/5 and 49 respectively.

Sunrisers Hyderabad was founded in 2012 after the Hyderabad-based Deccan Chargers were terminated by the IPL. The team made their first IPL appearance in 2013, where they reached the playoffs, eventually finishing in fourth place. The Sunrisers won their maiden IPL title in the 2016 season, defeating the Royal Challengers Bangalore by 8 runs in the final.