Africa Cup of Nations Football API

The AFCON, also known as the Africa Cup of Nations, is Africa’s most remarkable international tournament. Due to its popularity, the importance of football data for this tournament is significant.

AFCON football API

As football data providers we are very much aware of the importance of the data for this big football event. With our Football API you will have access to the following important futures for this event:

  • Match schedules and historical matches
  • Match statistics and events
  • Complete team squads
  • Match formations & Line-ups
  • (Live) scores and standings
  • (Live) odds and predictions
  • Coach and referee stats
  • And many more data is included in the AFCON Football API!
Start your free trial
  "data": {
    "id": 19036426,
    "sport_id": 1,
    "league_id": 1117,
    "season_id": 22795,
    "stage_id": 77467795,
    "group_id": null,
    "aggregate_id": null,
    "round_id": null,
    "state_id": 5,
    "venue_id": 12739,
    "name": "Nigeria vs Côte d'Ivoire",
    "starting_at": "2024-02-11 20:00:00",
    "result_info": "Côte d'Ivoire won after full-time.",
    "leg": "1/1",
    "details": null,
    "length": 90,
    "placeholder": false,
    "has_odds": true,
    "starting_at_timestamp": 1707681600,
    "participants": [
        "id": 18560,
        "sport_id": 1,
        "country_id": 23,
        "venue_id": 22001,
        "gender": "male",
        "name": "Côte d'Ivoire",
        "short_code": "CIV",
        "image_path": "",
        "founded": 1960,
        "type": "national",
        "placeholder": false,
        "last_played_at": "2024-02-11 20:00:00",
        "meta": {
          "location": "away",
          "winner": true,
          "position": 2
        "id": 18737,
        "sport_id": 1,
        "country_id": 716,
        "venue_id": 12710,
        "gender": "male",
        "name": "Nigeria",
        "short_code": "NGA",
        "image_path": "",
        "founded": 1945,
        "type": "national",
        "placeholder": false,
        "last_played_at": "2024-02-11 20:00:00",
        "meta": {
          "location": "home",
          "winner": false,
          "position": 1

Build your football app with football data from the Africa cup of nations

Are you interested in creating a football app yourself? We have the best Football API data that’s suited for you.

As customers are eager to get their football data in real-time, it is important to pick the right Football API provider. With our good quality data and our reasonable price, we can help you out.

At the start of Sportmonks we were in your situation, with the idea of creating our own football website, due to lack of good data we decided to collect it ourself. When we collected the data, we discovered that more people had to deal with this problem. This was in 2016; since then, we have developed the Football API more and more.

Read our story


Start with your dream application and register for a free trial right now.

Start building your football application. Need any help? Our support team is available to assist you.

Enjoy high-quality and reliable AFCON data.


Our methodology is straightforward, yet our data is exceptional

We gather data
Our dedicated team of in-house scouts and data partners collect and maintain the accuracy and timeliness of our data.
We validate data
Incoming data undergoes continuous verification by human experts and intuitive data processing systems around the clock.
We distribute data
Utilizing a flexible API alongside comprehensive documentation and top-notch support ensures seamless access and utilization of our data.


Experience the unparalleled accuracy and reliability of our AFCON data through our cutting-edge Football API. Begin your journey to revolutionize the football experience in your app.

Start your free trial now

Africa Cup of Nations 2023

The tournament began with the opening match between the hosts, Ivory Coast, facing Guinea Bissau on the 13th of January 2024. The match ended in a 2-0 victory for Ivory Coast. The hosts of the tournament surprised everyone, as they won a terrific match against Nigeria. The final was played on the 11th of February, 2024. Thanks to a late goal from Sebastian Haller, Ivory Coast won 1-2.

The tournament has been delayed due to weather conditions, as it was intended to be hosted in June and July 2023 during the rainy season.

The Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) features 24 teams divided into six groups of four teams each. The top two teams from each group advance to the last 16, while the bottom two are eliminated during the group stage, except for the four best third places.

Africa cup of Nations history champions

The tournament promises to be spectacular as proven by history. Lots of different countries in Africa have won the price once before, sometimes as underdog and sometimes as fovourites on forehand. The winners since the start of the tournament are:

1957: Egypt                                                                                1959: Egypt
1962: Ethiopia                                                                            1963: Ghana
1965: Ghana                                                                              1968: DR Congo
1970: Sudan                                                                               1972: Congo
1974: DR Congo                                                                         1976: Morocco
1978: Ghana                                                                               1980: Nigeria
1982: Ghana                                                                               1984: Cameroon
1986: Egypt                                                                                 1988: Cameroon
1990: Algeria                                                                              1992: Ivory Coast
1994: Nigeria                                                                              1996: South Africa
1998: Egypt                                                                                 2000: Cameroon
2002: Cameroon                                                                        2004: Tunisia
2006: Egypt                                                                                2008: Egypt
2010: Egypt                                                                                 2012: Zambia
2013: Nigeria                                                                              2015: Ivory Coast
2017: Cameroon                                                                         2019: Algeria
2021: Senegal                                                                              2023: Ivory Coast