League One

The League One is the third level of English football. And it is a very exciting league.

Get League One Data




The League One standings

England League One

The League One is the second-highest division of the Football League while being the third level of the total England football system. Officially the League One is called the Sky Bet League 1. It was named after the main sponsor of the second, third and fourth divisions.

League One table

There are 24 League One teams in the League One table. These 24 teams are competing for promotion to the Championship. The champion and the runner-up will promote to the Championship and the winner of the play-offs will promote as well. The play-offs are being played by the number 3 to 6. The number 3 will play against the number 6, the number 4 will play against the number 5. This will be done in a knock-out system.

At the other side of the table we see that the teams that are at the lowest four places will relegate to the League Two. The champion and runner-up in the League Two will promote with the winner of the play-offs.

Do you want to show the League One standings?

Make sure to subscribe now

League One teams

The League One teams that are active in the 2021/2022 season are listed below with a bit of interesting information.

The home games of Accrington Stanley are being playe at the Crown Ground with a capacity of 5,450. The club has multiple nicknames like The Stands, The (Famous) Minnows and The Owd Red. The club was founded in 1968.

Bolton Wanderers’ home ground is the University of Bolton Stadium. The capacity of this stadium is 28,723. Bolton is one of the clubs that was promoted from the League Two in the 2020/2021 season by ending in third place. The nickname of the club is The Trotters and the club was founded in 1874.

Burton Albion is playing the home games in the Pirelli Stadium with the possibility to receive 6,912 supporters. The nickname is the Brewers. In 1950 the club was founded.

The Abbey Stadium is where Cambridge United receives their opponents when playing at home. The stadium offers a capacity of 8,127. In 2020/2021 they managed to promote to the League One by being the runner-up at the end of the season. The club was founded in 1912. Cambridge is also known as The U’s.

The Valley is the home ground of Charlton Athletic. It has a capacity of 27,111. The club has a nickname being The Addicks. The addicks were founded in 1905.

With Whaddon Road as Cheltenham Towns’ home ground with a capacity of 7,066 they managed to rank first in the League Two in the 2020/2021 season. Therefore, they promoted to the League One. The club was founded in 1887 and their nickname is The Robins.

Doncaster Rovers plays the home games in the Keepmoat Stadium with a capacity of 15,231. The club is also known as The Rovers or Donny Rovers and was founded in 1879.

Fleetwoord Town’s home ground is the Highbury Stadium with a capacity of 5,327. The Cod Army was founded in 1908.

Ipswhich Town’s home ground is Portman Road with a capacity of 30,311. The Tractor Boys were founded in 1878.

Lincoln City, also known as The Imps, plays their home games at Sincil Bank with a capacity of 10,120. The club was founded in 1884.

Forest Green Rovers Football Club have played their home games at The New Lawn since 2006, when they moved from their original home at The Lawn Ground.

Exeter City Football Club is known as the “Grecians”, the origin of their nickname is subject to speculation and debate. The club is owned by the club’s supporters through the Exeter City Supporters’ Trust. Exeter are one of two Devon clubs who compete in the Football League, the other being Plymouth Argyle, Exeter’s local rivals.

Bristol Rovers Football Club play their home matches at the Memorial Stadium in Horfield, they have been competing there since 1996. They spent 89 years in the heart of North Bristol between 1897 to 1986 at the Eastville Stadium. Following a sale of the land they spent ten years at Twerton Park in Bath. The club’s official nickname is “The Pirates”, reflecting the maritime history of Bristol.

Port Vale Football Club is a professional football club based in Burslem, Stoke-on-Trent, England, which competes in EFL League One. Vale is the only English Football League club not to be named after a place; their name being a reference to the valley of ports on the Trent and Mersey Canal.


Peterborough United Football Club have a long-standing rivalry with nearby club Cambridge United, with whom they contest the Cambridgeshire derby. They have spent their entire history at London Road Stadium and are nicknamed “The Posh”.

Derby County Football Club has played its home matches at Pride Park Stadium since 1997. Notable for being one of the 12 founder members of the Football League in 1888, Derby County is one of only 10 clubs to have competed in every season of the English football league system, with all but four of those being in the top two divisions.

Barnsley Football Club were founded in 1887 by Reverend Tiverton Preedy. The club’s colours were originally blue, but were changed to red and white in 1904. Their home ground since 1888 has been Oakwell.

Milton Keynes Dons, also known as The Dons, play in the Stadium MK with a capacity of 30,500 which makes it the number three stadium based on capacity in this league. The club was founded in its original state 2004.

Morecambe has the Globe Arena as their home ground. It has a capacity of 6,476. In the 2020/2021 season they won the play-offs to be promoted to League One. The club was founded in 1920 and have multiple nicknames. The Baytmen, The Shrimps, The Cockles and The Moor are the nicknames they carry.

Oxford United plays at the Kassam Stadium with a capacity of 12,500. The U’s were founded in 1893 with another name, being headington United. It is located in the university city Oxford.

Plymouth Argyle plays at the Home Park with a capacity of 18,214. The Pilgrims or the Greens were founded in 1886 with the name Argyle F.C.

Portsmouth has Fratton Park as their home ground with a capacity of 19,669. Pompey is the nickname of the club which was founded in 1898.

Sheffield Wednesday has the second highest capacity of the League One. The Hillsborough Stadium can handle 34,854 supporters. Sheffield relegated from the Championship after ending the 2020/2021 season in the 24th place. The club is known as the Owls and was founded in 1867.

Shrewsbury Town is playing its home games at the New Meadow which has a capacity of 9,854. The Shrews, Salop, The Blues, Blue & Amber Army are a couple of the nicknames Sheffield carries. The club was founded in 1886.

Wycombe Wanderers relegated from the Championship after finishing the league in the 22th rank. The home ground is Adams Park which has a capacity of 9,448. The Blues or The Chairboys were founded in 1887.

League One is a must have

You might remember the 2015/2016 season very well. That was the season Will Grigg became the top scorer of the league. The song “Will Grigg’s on fire” went viral for a while. This proves that the league is very interesting and a must have in your application.

Subscribe to the League One