Primera División Argentina

The Primera División is the highest competition in Argentina. Boca Juniors, River Plate, and Independiente are well-known worldwide.

Primera División format

Argentina was one of the first countries to start a football league. It was founded in 1891, and in the early years, teams from Buenos Aires, La Plata, Greater Buenos Aires, and Rosario joined the league. Teams from other cities joined in the upcoming years.

In 1931 the Primera División turned professional. That was the moment 18 clubs decided to become professional. There was a time the Primera División of Argentina was placed fourth on a list of strongest leagues in the world. In 2015 the La Liga, Serie A (Italy), and the Bundesliga were the only leagues to rank higher on the International Federation of Football History and Statistics list.

Best Primera División teams

River Plate has played 114 seasons in the Primera División since 1909. The full name of the club is Club Atlético River Plate. Monumental Stadium is the home ground of River Plate and has a capacity of 70,074. Ángel Labruna is the all-time top scorer with 317 goals in 515 matches, while Amadeo Carrizo has the most appearances for River Plate with 520 games. River Plate have won 37 titles.

Boca Juniors has played in the Primera División since 1913 and has played 111 seasons. The club’s full name from Buenos Aires is Club Atlético Boca Juniors. La Bombonera La Boca has a capacity of 54,000 and is the club’s home ground. Martín Palermo is the all-time top scorer with 236 goals, while Roberto Mouzo has played the most matches with 426 appearances. Boca Juniors have won 34 titles.

Racing has played 110 seasons since 1911 in the Primera División. Racing Club de Avellaneda plays in the Estadio Presidente Perón with a capacity of 61,000. Natalio Perinetti played 405 matches for Racing, while Alberto Ohaco scored 244 goals for the club. Racing have won 18 titles.

Independiente has played 111 seasons in the Primera División since 1912 and won 16 titles. Club Atlético Independiente is the full name, and the club plays its home matches at the Libertadores de América Stadium, which has a capacity of 48,069. Arsenio Erico is the all-time top scorer with 295 goals in 325 matches. Ricardo Bochini played 638 games which is a club record.

Estudiantes has played in the Primera División since 1912 and has played 110 seasons. Club Estudiantes de La Plata was the first team outside the traditional ‘big five’ to win the professional league. The club won more international titles than national league titles. The home matches are being played in Estadio Jorge Luis Hirschi, which has a capacity of 32,230. Manuel Pelegrina has the most appearances for the club, with 489 matches and is the top scorer, with 489 goals scored.

    "data": [
            "id": 32,
            "legacy_id": 905,
            "name": "Newell's Old Boys",
            "short_code": "NOB",
            "twitter": null,
            "country_id": 44,
            "national_team": false,
            "founded": 1903,
            "logo_path": "",
            "venue_id": 14849,
            "current_season_id": 19353,
            "is_placeholder": false


Other Primera División teams

  • San Lorenzo
  • Vélez Sarsfield
  • Gimnasia y Esgrima
  • Huracán
  • Newell’s Old Boys
  • Ferro Carril Oeste
  • Lanús
  • Argentinos Juniors
  • Rosario Central

Do you want to build a Primera División application?

That sounds like a great idea. However, you will need a great data supplier. Sportmonks can help you with this. We deliver all Primera División live scores, statistics, standings and more. Does a player score? You will be able to give your users a notification before the goals are visible on the television in their home or bar. Your users will be able to celebrate a goal before it happens on television.


Start Now