DFB Pokal

Sportmonks is your DFB Pokal data provider. The most important tournament in Germany has 21 different winners.

DFB Pokal History

The DFB Pokal is the German Cup, which is organized by the Deutscher Fussball-Bund, DFB every year. The Rheinstadion in Düsseldorf was the first stadium to host the final in 1935. Back then, the German Cup had another name, Tschammer-Cup. After World War II, the first tournament in the DFB was held in 1952. In the DDR the FDGB-Pokal was held in 1949.


In total, 64 teams are participating in the. The 3. Liga has four spots (the first four of the league table last season). Besides that, 21 teams have won the Landesverbände tournaments and three runners-up in the Landesverbände Beieren, Nedersaksen and Westfalen. The other teams are from the Bundesliga, and 2. Bundesliga.

Every time the amateurs have a match versus a Bundesliga team, the amateurs will play at home. In the first round, there will always be a Bundesliga or 2. Bundesliga team playing versus an amateur team. For the round of 16, there will be a draw for which teams play at home. This is the case even if amateur teams are still in the tournament.

Every round includes a single match, home or away. Losing means elimination, and winning means that the team proceeds to the next round.

DFB Pokal Records

Fortuna Düsseldorf won 18 matches in a row from 1978 to 1981. Kickers Offenback and Hannover 96 won the German Cup while not being part of the Bundesliga. On three occasions amateur teams reached the final. These teams were the amateur team of Hertha BSC Berlin, Energie Cottbus and 1. FC Union Berlin.

German Cup winners

Bayern München is the team that has won the Cup the most since 1969 (20th time in 2020). Werder Bremen won six times, while Eintracht Frankfurt and Borussia Dortmund won five times. FC Köln and FC Schalke 04 won 4 times. Hamburger SV, Borussia Mönchengladbach and VfB Stuttgart won the Cup three times. The winner of last season (2020/2021) is Borussia Dortmund.


As the information above shows, the DFB Pokal is a must-have in your web application. Sportmonks has most German leagues covered in the Football API. Check out our coverage page if you need more information about our coverage and data features.

Sportmonks covers Live scores, match stats and predictions. Everything you want for your perfect application. We cover pre-match odds, all in-play odds and statistics and post-match stats you wish for.


"id": 18054765001,
                    "team_id": "68",
                    "type": "goal",
                    "fixture_id": 18054765,
                    "player_id": 538034,
                    "player_name": "J. Sancho",
                    "related_player_id": 32347,
                    "related_player_name": "M. Dahoud",
                    "minute": 5,
                    "injuried": null,
                    "result": "0-1",


DFB Pokal Women

Since 1981 the Women DFB Pokal has been a yearly event as well. The cup is also known as DFB-Pokal Frauen. Forty-nine teams participate, and VfL Wolfsburg is the current champion with eight titles. 1. FCC Frankfurt is the record champion with nine titles. However, VfL Wolfsburg won the last seven tournaments.